Our School

The School of Social Sciences is an exceptional community of scholars who are at the forefront of a wide range of social science disciplines and professions.  The School has two Clusters: the Governance & Global Change Cluster and the Social and Cultural Inquiry Cluster which the seven disciplines are part of. The Governance & Global Change Cluster comprises of Politics & International Relations and Development Studies, while the Social Inquiry Cluster includes Criminology, Social Research & Policy, Social Work and Sociology & Anthropology. 

Our academics contribute expert opinion and scholarly knowledge to many policy fields, including crime and criminal justice, community and social policy, disability policy and services, indigenous issues, politics and human rights, refugees and migration, gendered violence, international development, peace, conflict, and security.

We are committed to rigorous academic analysis while aware of the practical needs of undergraduate and postgraduate study. We also offer unique programs – for example, our combined Criminology and Social Work degree is the only one its kind across Australia’s prestigious Group of Eight (Go8) Universities.

With the School’s strong emphasis on work-integrated learning, our courses are designed to prepare students for employment in a diverse range of occupations associated with social sciences, and our graduates find employment across the public and private sectors.

For more information about the School of Social Sciences and our vision for the future, please download our 2017 - 2025 Research Strategy (PDF) [16 Mb]

Download our strategy for 2015-2020
School of Social Sciences Strategy 2015-2020 (PDF) [951 Kb]
Download our external engagement booklet
School of Social Sciences External Engagement (PDF) [1001 Kb]
Research Strategy 2017 - 2025 - School of Social Sciences
Research Strategy 2017 - 2025 - School of Social Sciences (PDF) [16 Mb]